• Mon. May 27th, 2024

University staff recognised in Queen’s New Year’s Honours list

ByLydia Willcocks

Jan 17, 2018

Ten members of the University of Edinburgh staff have been included in the 2018 Queen’s New Year’s Honours list. The number of honour-recipients have increased over the years, with eight members of staff recognised last year and just three in 2016.

The staff members are among more than a hundred Scots honoured in this year’s Queen’s list according to the Edinburgh Reporter.

The university members of staff who were recognised in the New Years Honours cover a wide range of disciplines.

Three professors were honoured for their work in medical research: Professor Margaret Frame for her services to cancer research, Professor Derek Ball for his services to unscheduled care and quality improvement and Dr Angela Thomas for her service to the regulation of public health.

Ms Hayley Williams was awarded an MBE in recognition for her services to veterinary education and animal welfare.

Professor Kathy Whaler was awarded an OBE for her services to geophysics.

Lady Susan Rice CBE was appointed a dame in recognition of her services to business, the arts and charity in Scotland.

Dr Fiona Bradley received an OBE in recognition of her work in the Arts. In recognition for services to Criminology, Professor Lesley McAra was appointed CBE. Professor Andrew Morris was also appointed CBE to honour his service to data science.

The Very Reverend Professor Iain R Torrance received a knighthood in recognition of his service to Higher Education and Theology, namely his work in theological education, interfaith dialogue and in combatting homophobia.

Speaking to The Student, Professor Margaret Frame said that “the OBE was a very nice recognition of my team’s cancer research work over many years.

“It is a great privilege to be a cancer researcher day in, day out and the Cancer Research Centre at the University of Edinburgh has undergone big changes during the past 10 years, thanks to wonderful colleagues in the College of Medicine and Veterinary Medicine.”

To The Student, Professor Kathy Whaler remarked how she is “absolutely delighted to be receiving this honour” along with how “the many talented and dedicated scientists who have enabled and supported her contributions to research and leadership” are necessary to acknowledge in the face of such an honour.

The New Years Honours, announced every year on January 1, is part of the honours system that dates back to 1890, during the reign of Queen Victoria.

New recipients of official honours and orders of chivalry are awarded by the reigning monarch to recognise and reward good works by citizens of the 16 Commonwealth nations.

They are awarded to those in an array of fields of work, including health, sport, education and community services. Displaying moral courage, enhancing Britain’s reputation and displaying innovation, entrepreneurship and many other achievements are also rewarded in the honours scheme.

The 2018 Honours list included knighthoods for musicians Ringo Starr and Barry Gibb, a knighthood for politician Nick Clegg and a CBE for actor Hugh Laurie. The former ballerina Darcy Bussell was awarded a damehood and author Lady Antonia Fraser received the Order of the Companions of Honour.

The youngest on the list was Lucia Mee, 18, who was awarded the British Empire Medal for her work as an organ donation campaigner.


Image: Sara Konradi / Photographer

By Lydia Willcocks

Lifestyle Editor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *